Montgomery County hospitals rank highest on new safety scores - WSLS 10 NBC in Roanoke/Lynchburg Va

Montgomery County hospitals rank highest on new safety scores

Posted: Updated:
CHRISTIANSBURG, VA -

The two hospitals in Montgomery County ranked the highest for safety in Southwest Virginia, according to new scores released by The LeapFrog Group on Wednesday.

Both Carilion NRV Medical Center and LewisGale Hospital at Montgomery received an "A" grade from the group.

The Roanoke Valley's main two hospitals, Carilion Roanoke Memorial and LewisGale Medical Center, along with Centra's Lynchburg General Hospital received "B" grades.

Here's the full list, and links to explain each score:

  1. Carilion NRV Medical Center – A (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/carilion-new-river-valley-medical-center)
  2. LewisGale Hospital at Montgomery – A (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/lewisgale-hospital-montgomery)
  3. Bedford Memorial Hospital – B (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/bedford-memorial-hospital)
  4. Carilion Franklin Memorial Hospital – B (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/carilion-franklin-memorial-hospital)
  5. Carilion Roanoke Memorial Hospital – B (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/carilion-roanoke-memorial-hospital)
  6. Centra Lynchburg General Hospital – B (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/centra-lynchburg-general-hospital)
  7. Centra Virginia Baptist Hospital (Lynchburg) – B (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/centra-virginia-baptist-hospital)
  8. LewisGale Hospital at Alleghany – B (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/lewisgale-hospital-alleghany)
  9. LewisGale Hospital at Pulaski – B (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/lewis-gale-hospital-pulaski)
  10. LewisGale Medical Center (Salem) – B (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/lewisgale-medical-center)
  11. Memorial Hospital of Martinsville – C (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/memorial-hospital-of-martinsville)
  12. Twin County Regional Hospital (Galax) – C (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/twin-county-regional-hospital)
  13. UVA Medical Center – C (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/university-of-virginia-medical-center)
  14. Wythe County Community Hospital – C (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/wythe-county-community-hospital)
  15. Halifax Regional Health System (South Boston) – D (http://www.hospitalsafetyscore.org/hospital/halifax-regional-health-system)
  • Most Popular StoriesMost Popular StoriesMore>>

  • April Mugshots

    April Mugshots

    Tuesday, April 22 2014 2:42 PM EDT2014-04-22 18:42:32 GMT
    Thomas Allen WinstonThomas Allen Winston
    The following are mugshots and charges of individuals arrested between April 1-4 by the Sullivan County Sheriff's Office.
    The following are mugshots and charges of individuals arrested between April 1-4 by the Sullivan County Sheriff's Office.
  • 12-year-old accidentally kills little brother in Franklin Co.

    12-year-old accidentally kills little brother in Franklin Co.

    Tuesday, April 22 2014 6:24 PM EDT2014-04-22 22:24:35 GMT
    The Franklin County Sheriff's Office says a 12-year-old year boy accidentally killed his 7-year-old brother. Deputies received a 911 call about shots fired on Tuesday, April 21 stat 11:46 a.m.
    The Franklin County Sheriff's Office says a 12-year-old year boy accidentally killed his 7-year-old brother. Deputies received a 911 call about shots fired on Tuesday at 11:46 a.m.
  • Roanoke Mother stands up against bullying after son's suicide

    Roanoke Mother stands up against bullying after son's suicide

    Tuesday, April 22 2014 6:05 PM EDT2014-04-22 22:05:18 GMT
    A Roanoke County mother is standing up against bullying after her 16-year-old son committed suicide. Maxx Poff was found dead on February 20th from a gunshot wound. "Maxx was a lover. He wasn't a fighter and it just kills me to know the pain he was going through for somebody bullying him," Maxx's mother Dianna Poff says. Roanoke County Assistant Police Chief Chuck Mason says detectives heard information was being circulated through social media that suggested bullying was the mean reason fo...
    A Roanoke County mother is standing up against bullying after her 16-year-old son committed suicide. Maxx Poff was found dead on February 20th from a gunshot wound. "Maxx was a lover. He wasn't a fighter and it just kills me to know the pain he was going through for somebody bullying him," Maxx's mother Dianna Poff says. Roanoke County Assistant Police Chief Chuck Mason says detectives heard information was being circulated through social media that suggested bullying was the mean reason fo...
Powered by WorldNow

WSLS 10, P.O. Box 10
Roanoke, VA 24022-0010

Telephone: 540.981.9110
Fax: 540.343.3157
Email: news@wsls.com

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.