Grayson, Carroll Co. designated as "High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas"

(Copyright by WSLS - All rights reserved)

HILLSVILLE (WSLS 10) – Grayson and Carroll County are now designated as High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas (HIDTA). The designations will enable Carroll and Grayson counties to receive federal resources to further the coordination and development of drug control efforts among federal, state, local, and tribal law enforcement officials.

The director of the National Drug Control Policy, Michael Botticelli, made the announcement Thursday as part of the 14 additional counties in 10 states that received the designation.

Along with federal funding, the designation will allow local agencies to benefit from ongoing HIDTA-coordinated initiatives working to reduce drug use and its consequences across the United States.

"With the designation of new counties as High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas (HIDTA), we are enhancing the ability of federal, state, and local authorities to coordinate drug enforcement operations and improve public health and safety," said Botticelli. "The High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas program is an important part of this Administration's work to expand community-based efforts to prevent drug use, pursue ‘smart on crime' approaches to drug enforcement, work to reduce overdose deaths, increase access to treatment, and support millions of Americans in recovery."

Senator Mark Warner released this statement on the designation:

"Too many families throughout the Commonwealth are suffering from the devastating epidemic of addictive and deadly drugs. It's incredibly important that we stop the flow of drugs to communities in Virginia," Sen. Warner said. "I'm pleased that Carroll and Grayson counties have been chosen to receive federal dollars to strengthen community-based efforts to prevent drug use and overdose deaths, expand access to treat those who need it, and support Virginians in recovery. There are more counties in Virginia that are in desperate need of additional resources to fight this epidemic, and I will to continue to work with ONDCP to ensure those needs are met." 

The newly designated counties were added to the following HIDTAs:

Appalachia HIDTA

  • Blount County, Tennessee
  • Carroll County, Virginia
  • Grayson County, Virginia
  • Gulf Coast HIDTA
  • Escambia County, Florida
  • Santa Rosa County, Florida
  • Michigan HIDTA
  • o Muskegon County, Michigan
  • New England HIDTA
  • Bristol County, Massachusetts
  • New York/New Jersey HIDTA
  • Broome County, New York
  • Ulster County, New York
  • Oregon-Idaho HIDTA
  • Linn County, Oregon
  • Texoma HIDTA
  • McIntosh County, Oklahoma
  • Pittsburg County, Oklahoma
  • Washington/Baltimore HIDTA
  • Carroll County, Maryland
  • Jefferson County, West Virginia

According to a news release from the Office of National Drug Control Policy, HIDTA was created by Congress in 1988 and serves as a catalyst for coordination among federal, state, local, and tribal law enforcement agencies operating in areas determined to be critical drug trafficking regions of the United States. Law enforcement organizations working within HIDTAs assess drug-trafficking issues and design specific initiatives to decrease the production, transportation, distribution, and chronic use of drugs and money laundering. There are currently 28 HIDTAs across the country.

About the Author: