Franklin out of 4x200m freestyle relay final; Schmitt, Smith, DiRado and Ledecky given nod instead

(Copyright by WSLS - All rights reserved)

NBC Olympics.com – Katie Ledecky will continue her quest for five Olympic medals in Rio as the anchor leg of the women's 4x200m freestyle relay alongside Allison Schmitt, Leah Smith and Maya DiRado on Wednesday night.

Missy Franklin, who raced in the preliminary heats, not be on the nighttime relay.

Ledecky already owns three medals of these Rio Games, two of them individual golds. Schmitt won the 2012 Olympic title in the 200m freestyle, and Smith won a bronze in the 400m free behind Ledecky earlier in the week. Maya DiRado already owns a silver and a bronze from Rio in the medleys.

Missy Franklin, Melanie Margalis and Cierra Runge, who raced in the qualifying heats of the relay, are also eligible to collect medals, should the nighttime squad earn one. The U.S. women have traditionally won gold in this event, which was introduced in 1996; they won captured the Olympic title in 1996, 2000, 2004 and 2012 and came away with the silver in 2008.

About the Author: