Lilly King, Molly Hannis do not advance to 200m breaststroke final

No Americans in the 200m breaststroke final

(Copyright by WSLS - All rights reserved)

NBC Olympics.com – Though U.S. women have won three straight gold medals in the 200m breaststroke, no American will contend in Thursday night's final.

Both Lilly King – who won the 100m distance earlier this week – and Molly Hannis did not qualify for the eight-woman final, finishing in 12th and 16th, respectively.

Amanda Beard won the event in Athens in 2004, and Rebecca Soni took back-to-back Olympic crowns in 2008 and 2012.

Australian Taylor McKeown's time of two minutes, 21.69 seconds was the fastest among the semifinal swims. 2012 Olympic bronze medalist Yulia Efimova advanced in sixth place with her time of 2:22.52.

About the Author: