Roanoke County Sheriff's Office honors fallen Dallas police officers

(Copyright by WSLS - All rights reserved)

ROANOKE (WSLS 10) - During his vacation earlier this month, a Roanoke County deputy delivered a plaque to the Dallas Police Department to honor the officers who died on July 7.

On August 1, Deputy Phillip Ferguson made a side-trip to deliver a plaque to the Dallas Police Department honoring the fallen Dallas Police and DART Officers Patrick Zamarripa, Michael Krol, Brent Thompson, Sgt. Michael Smith, and Sr. Cpl. Lorne Ahrens, who were killed in the line of duty.

Ferguson was met by Sgt. Warren Mitchell at the Dallas Police Department headquarters, where he accepted the plaque on behalf of the sheriff's office.