37ºF

Facebook face recognition software will alert you to photos you're in, even if you're not tagged

Optional feature designed to help people manage their identity

Credit: Facebook

Facebook announced a new optional feature on Tuesday that will alert you of photos posted on the social media platform that you're in, even if no one has tagged you in the photo.

The idea behind the feature is to "help you find photos that you’re not tagged in and help you detect when others might be attempting to use your image as their profile picture," according to Facebook.

This new setting will be able to be turned off with a simple on/off control. 

When a photo of you has been posted, you will be alerted and given the option to tag yourself, leave yourself untagged or contact the person who posted the photo if you have concerns about it, Facebook announced in a release