MLB's Torre says "right call" on dispute interference

Full Screen
1 / 4

Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Washington Nationals manager Dave Martinez has to be restrained after being ejected for arguing an interference call during the seventh inning of Game 6 of the baseball World Series against the Houston Astros Tuesday, Oct. 29, 2019, in Houston. (AP Photo/Matt Slocum)

HOUSTON, TX – Major League Baseball executive Joe Torre says the "right call" was made and that a protest was denied after Nationals leadoff hitter Trea Turner was called out for interference during Washington's 7-2 Game 6 victory in the World Series on Tuesday night.

Nationals manager Dave Martinez was ejected for arguing plate umpire Sam Holbrook's ruling in the seventh inning, and Torre said Washington's request to protest the game was denied because it was a judgment call.

Holbrook's signal came after Turner hit a slow roller down the third base line with a runner at first and ran narrowly inside fair territory.

Pitcher Brad Peacock fielded the ball, and his throw pulled first baseman Yuli Gurriel toward the baseline. As Gurriel stretched, Turner ran into his glove, and the ball bounced off Turner's leg and into foul territory. Turner ended up at second, with lead runner Yan Gomes going to third — except Holbrook quickly signaled for interference.

Turner was called out and Gomes sent back to first base. After some argument from Martinez and the Nationals, umpires went to the headsets for 4 ½ minutes before upholding the call. The overall delay stretched over 10 minutes.

"I mean what else do you do? I don't know. The batter's box is in fair territory. First base is in fair territory. I swung, I ran a straight line, I get hit with the ball, I'm out," Turner said. "I don't understand it. I can understand it if I veered one way or the other. I didn't."

The Nationals wanted to pursue a protest, and Turner was heard on television pointing to Torre, MLB's chief baseball officer, in the stands and shouting "He's right there!" and "Just ask him!"

"The call was the fact that he interfered with Gurriel trying to catch the ball," Torre said, adding that Holbrook "made the right call at first base."