Truex wins at Martinsville to earn spot in championship race

Full Screen
1 / 5

Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved

Martin Truex Jr. (19) and Clint Bowyer (14) get service in the pits during the NASCAR Cup Series race at Martinsville Speedway in Martinsville, Va., Sunday, Oct. 27, 2019. (AP Photo/Steve Helber)

MARTINSVILLE, VA – Martin Truex Jr. was celebrating the victory that locked him into NASCAR's title race when he heard the crowd roar, looked up at the big screen and saw two championship contenders jawing at each other on pit road.

"Oh, look, a fight," the winner said.

Indeed, Denny Hamlin was knocked to the ground in a confrontation with Joey Logano in the most intense action of an otherwise lackluster playoff Sunday at Martinsville Speedway.

Truex earned a spot in NASCAR's championship race for the third consecutive year by leading 464 of the 500 laps. He's the first driver to claim one of the four spots in the Nov. 17 title race at Homestead-Miami Speedway while leading the most laps in a win since Kyle Petty led 484 laps in 1992 at Rockingham.

There were just three lead changes, and Truex controlled the event from the first round of pit stops, when he beat Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Hamlin back onto the track for the lead. He was hardly challenged at all and his Toyota coasted to his first career victory at NASCAR's shortest track.

"We're going to Homestead again and that was what we tried to accomplish this weekend," Truex said. "We don't have to worry about points anymore. We can just get to work on our Homestead car."

Martinsville marked the first of three races in the round of eight of the playoffs, where the field will be trimmed to a winner-take-all final four for the finale. Truex is locked in, while Hamlin, Kyle Busch and Logano are above the cutline. Kevin Harvick, Ryan Blaney, Chase Elliott and Kyle Larson are the bottom four.

The next two rounds will be must-win situations for Elliott, NASCAR's most popular driver, who suffered a catastrophic mechanical failure and finished 36th in the 38-car field. A victory earns a playoff driver an automatic berth into the final four.