Tornado watch issued for parts of Southside Virginia

Watch expires at 12 a.m. on Thursday

Tornado watch (WSLS 10)

ROANOKE, Va. – The National Weather Service issued a tornado watch for some counties and cities in Southside.

The watch expires at 12 a.m. on Thursday.

Affected localities in our area include:

  • Carroll County
  • Floyd County
  • Franklin County
  • Henry County
  • Martinsville
  • Patrick County

As a reminder, a tornado watch means that forecasted conditions favor tornado development, more urgent than that, is a tornado warning, which means that a tornado is happening or is expected soon.

a (Copyright 2021 by WSLS 10 - All rights reserved.)

About the Author:

Nicole Del Rosario joined WSLS 10 in August 2020.