ROANOKE, Va. – July 1 means Virginia’s new laws go into effect.
One law most people won’t be happy about is the increase in Virginia’s gasoline tax.
Stay with us here because it’s a bit tricky how this increase works.
The key factor is that it’s a two-part increase.
Prior to July 1, 2020, the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles determined the statewide average wholesale price of a gallon of gas so it could then determine the applicable cents per gallon in accordance with applicable tax rates.
Since January 2015, Virginians have been paying a tax of 16.2 cents per gallon on regular gas.
Now, House Bill 1414 jumps that tax to 21.2 cents per gallon.