Three SW Virginia congressmen vote against resolution to prevent government shutdown

Congressmen Ben Cline, Morgan Griffith and Bob Good all voted against Speaker Johnson’s resolution on Tuesday

BLACKSBURG, Va. – The threat of a government shutdown will have to wait to come back up in the new year.

On Tuesday, the House of Representatives voted to prevent a government shutdown sending Republican Speaker Mike Johnson’s plan to the Senate.

Without enough support from his Republican majority, Johnson had to rely on Democrats to ensure passage to keep the federal government running.

Karen Hult, a professor of political science at Virginia Tech, said Tuesday’s vote shows a lot for Republicans.

“Almost 100 Republicans voting against it but that still says the House Republicans are divided,” Hult said.

[RELATED: House votes to prevent a government shutdown as GOP Speaker Johnson relies on Democrats for help]

Among those voting against the resolution include Southwest Virginia representatives, Ben Cline, Morgan Griffith, and Bob Good.

On Monday, Good posted to his ‘X’ account with his stance on the matter.

Good, along with other members of the House Freedom Caucus, pushed for deeper spending cuts in the new year.

“They really did think that Speaker Johnson like Speaker McCarthy beforehand should have more involved in cutting spending and not getting Democratic votes to get this through,” Hult said.

Hult believes the caucus will continue to support Speaker Johnson in order to avoid repeating the cycle of trying to find a Speaker of the House.

About the Author:

Connor Dietrich joined the 10 News team in June 2022. Originally from Castle Rock, Colorado, he's ready to step away from the Rockies and step into the Blue Ridge scenery.